## **By-Laws**

## 10. ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS

## 10.01 - Electoral Districts

- (1) The following electoral districts are established for the purposes of the election of Elected Members (with necessary modifications by the Registrar to ensure that the entire province is covered and that there is no overlap of districts).
  - (a) Number 1, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the counties of Essex, Kent, Lambton and Middlesex:
  - (b) Number 2, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the counties of Brant, Elgin, Haldimand and Norfolk, the regional municipality of , Niagara and the city of Hamilton;
  - (c) Number 3, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the counties of Oxford and Perth and the regional municipality of Waterloo;
  - (d) Number 4, composed of the Licensed Members employed by the University of Guelph;
  - (e) Number 5, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the counties of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Huron and Simcoe:
  - (f) Number 6, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the county of Wellington;
  - (g) Number 7, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the county of Haliburton and the districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Kenora, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Rainy River, Sudbury, Temiskaming and Thunder Bay and the district municipality of Muskoka;
  - (h) Number 8, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville, the United Counties of Prescott and Russell, the counties of Frontenac, Lanark, Lennox Addington, and Renfrew, and the city of Ottawa;
  - (i) Number 9, composed of the Licensed Members employed by the Crown in right of Canada or an agency of the Crown in right of Canada;
  - (j) Number 10, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the city of Toronto and the regional municipality of York;
  - (k) Number 11, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the counties of Hastings, Northumberland, Peterborough and Prince Edward, the city of Kawartha Lakes and the regional municipality of Durham; and
  - (I) Number 12, composed of the Licensed Members residing in the regional municipalities of Halton and Peel.
- (2) Subject to subsection (3), the place where a Licensed Member resides for the purposes of an election is the Licensed Member's principal place of practice or residence under the By-laws on the 90th day before an election.
- (3) Where, on the 90th day before an election, a Licensed Member is employed full-time by the University of Guelph or by the Crown in right of Canada or an agency of the Crown in right of Canada, the Licensed Member shall be deemed for all electoral purposes to reside in electoral district number 4 or 9, whichever is the case, and not in the electoral district where the Licensed Member resides under subsection (2).
- (4) One Licensed Member shall be elected for each electoral district except for electoral district number 10.
- (5) Two Licensed Members shall be elected for electoral district number 10.

## 10.001 - Transition Period Election Provisions

- (1) Council members elected as of [date of Council meeting at which this By-law would be passed], 2024 shall remain in office until such time as new enabling legislation is passed and new Council members are elected under that successor statute. And all other provisions in these By-laws pertaining to Council Member elections are inapplicable in the meantime.
- (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), in exceptional circumstances, where the seat of an Elected Member becomes vacant prior to the new enabling legislation passing and Council is in danger of falling below quorum, Council may:
  - i. Appoint a Licensed Member who meets the criteria for eligibility for election to fill the vacant seat; or
  - ii. Direct the Registrar to hold a by-election in accordance with these By-laws.