close search panel
About CVO


Committees support the work of the College Council. The College has five statutory Committees (required by legislation) and two non-statutory Committees (created by the College). Committees are established at the Annual Council Meeting in December and are made up of Council and non-Council Committee members. As well as policy work, certain Committees deal with matters related to the conduct of individual veterinarians.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee provides leadership to Council by proposing policy changes, identifying the need for Registrar's Investigations and reviewing recommendations from committees.

Governance, Audit and Risk Committee

As a non-statutory committee, the Governance, Audit, and Risk Committee monitors the College’s compliance with its governance structure and processes, and recommends opportunities for continuous improvement to promote governance excellence.

  • Mr. Donald Mayne, Chair
  • Dr. Steven Jacobs
  • Dr. Patricia Lechten
  • Dr. Susan Warren

Registration Committee

The Registration Committee, a statutory committee, provides guidance to Council on the requirements for licensure with the College. The Committee endeavours to ensure equitable access to the profession and monitors licensure issues in the provincial, national and international environment. The Committee is also responsible for the College’s jurisprudence examination.

Complaints Committee

The Complaints Committee, a statutory committee, screens and reviews complaints about the conduct of veterinarians and decides whether any action should be taken related to the concerns.

Discipline Committee

The Discipline Committee, a statutory committee, holds public hearings during which they consider allegations of professional misconduct or serious neglect against a veterinarian. Cases are referred to the Discipline Committee by the Complaints and Executive Committees. Discipline hearings are generally open to the public and the outcomes are summarized and available on the College’s website and the online Public Register.

Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee, a statutory committee, oversees the Minimum Standards for Veterinary Facilities in Ontario which assure the facility provides a safe, professional environment for veterinary care. The Committee also monitors trends in veterinary medicine and amends accreditation standards, when necessary, to keep up with changes in the practice of the profession.

Quality Assurance Committee

The Quality Assurance Committee, a non-statutory committee, provides recommendations to Council which promote continued competence and continuing professional development among veterinarians.

  • Dr. Sarah Thompson, Chair
  • Dr. Sue Burlatschenko
  • Dr. Robert Berger
  • Dr. Shannah Kavonic
  • Mr. Donald Mayne

National Examining Board

  • Dr. Bev Baxter