close search panel

College elects Executive

December 12, 2016

Dr. Marc Marin, of Sudbury, Ontario, is the new president of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario (CVO), the province’s regulatory and licensing body for Ontario’s 4,600 veterinarians.

“We are heading into exciting times in the coming year as we embark on a new strategic plan which focuses the work of Council on key areas. Legislative reform remains at the forefront of our projects in 2017,” said Dr. Marin. The Council of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario has the responsibility of upholding the privilege of self-regulation of the veterinary profession in Ontario.

“The public interest is at the core of Council’s work,” said Dr. Marin. “We anticipate an ambitious agenda in the coming year. In 2017, among several initiatives, we will be continuing consultation on a new model for veterinary facility accreditation, launching the new Peer Advisory Conversation which supports quality and safety in veterinary medicine, and reviewing and introducing practice standards on telemedicine, prescribing, and dispensing. The College’s work to analyze and determine priority actions for the veterinary profession’s stewardship of antimicrobials in Ontario will also continue.”

Dr. Marin graduated from the Ontario Veterinary College in 1991 and has worked in mixed and companion animal practices. Dr. Marin, along with his partner Dr. Darren Stinson, operate Chelmsford Animal Hospital.

“I am proud to be a member of the veterinary profession in Ontario and I am committed to the College’s mandate to protect the public interest. The public and the profession expect the College’s standards to support safety and quality in the delivery of veterinary medicine,” said Dr. Marin.

At its recent Annual Council meeting, the College welcomed two new Councillors, Dr. Paula Menzies and Dr. Tyrrel de Langley, and one returning Councillor, Dr. Sarah Thompson, who were all elected by acclamation this fall.  Council also elected its Executive Committee consisting of Dr. Marin, President; Dr. Steven Jacobs, 1st Vice-President; Dr. Patricia Lechten, 2nd Vice-President; Dr. Larry Caven, Past President and Ms. Claudia Newman, Public Member.

Appointments were also made to the College’s statutory committees and details can be found on the College’s website at

As a self-regulated profession, the College’s governing Council is comprised of 13 elected veterinarians and five public members, appointed by the provincial government.  Supporting the work of Council are six Statutory Committees, with membership composed of veterinarians and the public members. The College protects and serves the public interest through the regulation of the practice of veterinary medicine.  Accordingly, veterinarians are licensed, facilities are accredited, standards and policies are developed and maintained, and an investigations and resolutions process is available.  The College licenses approximately 4,500 veterinarians and accredits over 2,300 facilities in Ontario.