close search panel

College of Veterinarians of Ontario elects Executive Committee

January 07, 2021

Dr. Tyrrel de Langley, of London, Ontario, is the new President of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario (CVO), the province’s regulatory and licensing body for Ontario’s 5,100 veterinarians.

“I look forward to the year ahead working with our Council in support of the College’s important mandate. Our Council is committed to managing the risks involved in the practice of veterinary medicine in Ontario and working to reduce any potential for harm to animals and to people,” said Dr. de Langley.

“As a veterinarian, my career has included emergency medicine, companion animal practice ownership, wildlife, and comparative medicine. I look forward to contributing a range of professional experience to this new opportunity and fulfilling our mandate of serving the public interest” said Dr. de Langley, who is currently the Regional Medical Director for the VCA Canada - London and Sarnia regions. Dr. de Langley was elected to the College Council in 2016 and joined the Executive Committee in 2018.

“There is no doubt that we are living through unprecedented times and the veterinary profession, as public health practitioners and One-Health partners, has a key role as society responds to the COVID-19 pandemic. The College and our Council are focused on moving forward through the first year of the College’s most recent strategic initiative, piloting the new model and standards for facility accreditation, and supporting veterinary professionalism with the launch of the voluntary Peer Advisory Conversation. Policy work will include the use of non-conventional therapies in the practice of veterinary medicine, conflict of interest, veterinary euthanasia, and telemedicine. I look forward to working with Council for a great and productive year,” he said.

Joining Dr. de Langley on the College’s Executive Committee are: Dr. Lorie Gold, First Vice-President; Dr. Alana Parisi, Second Vice-President; Dr. Susan Warren, Past President and Ms. Catherine Knipe, Public Member. Appointments were also made to the College’s statutory committees and details can be found on the College’s website at

At the December Annual Council meeting, the College welcomed three new professional members as a result of its election held last October. Joining Council are Dr. Annatasha Bartel, a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists; Dr. Harold Kloeze, a veterinarian with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency; and Dr. Jennifer Peatling, a companion animal veterinarian. As well, Council has welcomed a new public member, Mr. Amanpreet Sidhu, of Brampton.

As a regulated profession, the College’s governing Council is comprised of 13 elected veterinarians and five public members, appointed by the provincial government.  Supporting the work of Council are six Statutory Committees, with membership composed of veterinarians and public members. The College licenses approximately 5,100 veterinarians and accredits over 2,300 facilities in Ontario.